Meet the Committee

Professor David Wood - Chair

Professor David Wood is an Urban and Regional Planning Professional and currently Principal of David Wood Sustainability Planning. 

David is an experienced leader with skills in public sector governance and education management. Throughout his career, David has travelled extensively building national and international networks and connections with diplomats, politicians, private and public sector managers educationists and researchers. His experience includes Government Councils and Committees with responsibility for planning sensitive coastal environments and involving diverse membership from Government, the private sector, communities and not for profit organisations.

David has been a member of the Western Australian Planning Commission, the Heritage Council and has chaired a number of boards dealing with sustainability concerns including Western Australia’s Coastal Planning and Coordination Council. He has had a number of appointments in higher education amongst his most recent as Deputy Vice-Chancellor, International of Curtin University.

David and his wife Maria purchased a house in Margaret River in 2007 and have been living here since their retirements from Curtin University in 2015.

Ian Williams - Deputy Chair

Ian Williams BCom, CPA retired after four decades as a senior executive in the financial services sector working for large insurance companies with state, national and international operations and as CEO of a Credit Union. He has had experience in partnering and joint ventures and with due diligence processes, mergers, acquisitions and divestment of businesses. He has and has had a number of positions as a non-executive director in the private and government sector. He is a trustee of a not-for-profit charity focussed on raising funds to help children who have special needs.

Dr Laura Stocker - Secretary

Dr Laura Stocker has a PhD in ecology. She is an Adjunct Associate Professor at Curtin University, having researched and taught at Murdoch University’s Institute for Sustainability and Technology Policy and Curtin University Sustainability Policy (CUSP) Institute from 1989 to 2017 where she pioneered and coordinated Masters degrees in sustainability and climate policy. She undertook WA’s first Greenhouse Gas Audits and sat on the Renewable Energy Advisory Committee in the early 1990s. She has taught and researched in climate adaptation, regional sustainability, coastal sustainability, community engagement and sustainability mapping and planning. She has been running regular sustainability seminars at Margaret River in partnership with Transition Margaret River and the AMR Shire.

Beth Dowling - Treasurer

Beth Dowling, B.Bus, CPA has lived in Margaret River since 1982 and worked locally as a public accountant and business adviser since 1993, retiring in 2018. Beth has been in the position of treasurer for several community organisations including Nyindamurra Family School (now Margaret River Independent School) and Margaret River Business and Professional Women’s Association. She served on the Margaret River Hospital Board as Chair and on the finance sub-committee.

Her life reflects a strong desire to maintain a sustainable lifestyle and the preservation of the natural environment.

Dr Bruce Hamilton

Dr Bruce Hamilton has worked to improve natural resource management in WA for over 30 years in Government, as a senior officer in the EPA and the Water and Rivers Commission, as the Chief Executive of the Waterways Commission, as a member of a number of Government Boards and committees, and as a member of the Board of Greening Australia WA for seven years.  He has a keen interest in restoring our landscapes and rivers to a healthy and sustainable condition, especially the native vegetation. In recent years Bruce has worked as a private consultant in environmental, natural resource and organisational management. He is a member of the Lower Blackwood Land Conservation District Committee (LCDC) and lives in Augusta.

Lyn Serventy

Lyn Serventy BA, ABDB has worked as a teacher, Community Arts Manager and Lecturer in Viticulture. She served 11 years as a Councillor on the Augusta Margaret River Council including a term as Deputy Shire President. She brings a great deal of experience of working with the community of the Augusta Margaret River Shire to establish better ways of doing things both on-the-ground as a pioneer of organic viticulture, and in the planning arena through working at all levels of community, local government and Government to establish soundly-based sustainable planning.

Jessica Worrall

Jessica Worrall has been a small business owner since 2000 initially as a grape grower, wine producer and then starting up and operating a cellar door.  Prior to moving to Margaret River, Jessica worked for 20 years as an engineer in Oil & Gas after obtaining a Bachelor of Engineering (Electrical) in 1986.  Jessica has volunteered in a multitude of community groups in a variety of roles and has experience in boards, in applying for and acquitting grants, to organising community events.

David Hargreaves

David Hargreaves is a commercial lawyer with over 20 year’s experience working for national and international law firms, and more recently, government.  David was quick to offer assistance when asked to be involved with the AMRCCE, and has been instrumental in assisting with legal and other aspects of achieving its goals.